Governments are considering implementing a 'digital detox' day where internet access is restricted. Do the potential benefits for mental health and social interaction outweigh the disadvantages for businesses and essential services?

The governments thinks they need to implementing a day of ‘digital detox’ where people are restricted to access the internet. Based on my personal opinion, this idea disadvantages will outweigh the advantages of the mental health.

Nowadays, the digitalization was rapidly increased day by day, this also including how people using them as a tool to make their activity more productive and easier. Business and essential service are not an exception when we talk about digital product. If the government will implement this idea, a huge number of business sector will affected in a bad way, such as, digital online platform for travel, that people usually can easily book flights and hotels through their platform will move to the traditional way by directly calling to the hotel or the air ways. This is not only make the revenue of the travel platform declined but also taking more time for the customer to process their travel plan. Moreover, for essential services (Fire fighter, ambulance, 911) will not maximally operated if the digital tools like a cell phone are restricted to used. For example, if there is a urgent case such as massive car crash and that day was a ‘digital detox’ day, the citizen can not call the ambulance or even 911 to help as soon as possible, and this can lead to major problems.

The advantage of this idea to minimize digital tools is absolutey make our mental health better. We can enjoy our day like an old ways such as reading a booking, talking with people, and enjoy nature or our sorrounding little more, rather than just doomed scrolling through our cell phone. However, we can not denied that we need digital tools or platform in our live to make our life easier and help our work smoother.In conclussion, detox day from digital is a good thing that will help us to have a better quality live. But, this advantage is not bigger than the disadvantages that will have a major of disruption, if we apply this in our day to day life.