In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this era of advanced civilisation, the modern human being is evolving day by day with different everyday needs and a very busy lifestyle with an all time stress to secure some money for their old age but not everyone is fortunate enough to save enough. so, they seek help from old age homes to get their life a little better. I partially agree with the statement that the government should pay for their expenses and I have explained my reasoning in the following paragraphs.

To commence by saying that government should indeed help for elderly care because first and foremost most of the people are working on minimum wages which makes it very hard to save enough money to buy their bread and butter to survive in today’s harsh world and with this stress, not everyone can saveup for their future and managing wages should be one of the sector of concern for every ruling party. according to a survey done in 2018, more than 60% of people keep on working on minimum wages till their retirement. furthermore, as the rate of unemployment are increasing, more and more people are becoming homeless with difficult weather condition and with all of there hardship it is very hard for an elderly person to fight for a shed everyday in their own country. government should take proper measures to come out with an efficient plan and to provide care for them.

On the other side, some people also decide to go live with senior pupil by their own will as sometimes their current families are not very supportive with the old members of the family to live with them in which one of the major factor is family disputes where children usually prefer their parents to live separately from them. in these cases, it is family responsibility to provide with proper care for their loved ones. according to a report published by a leading institution, family disputes between parents and children have been increased since 2009. Moreover, some old citizens also take decision to move with humans who are closer to their age because they face loneliness in their own home which could be due to less interaction with the family because of everyone’s busy schedule or kids leaving far away from their family for work or studies. in these cases, family should fund for the care.

To conclude, we can say that government should take important steps to provide proper care for the elderly and if it a family decision then they should help with care for they elders.