With the growing population in cities, many people are living in small homes that do not have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the rising urban population has prioritized other rooms and facilities over outdoor areas in home designs. In my opinion, this trend represents a negative development due to several factors. In this essay, I will discuss the detrimental effects of having little or no outdoor area in a house.

Firstly, the absence of open areas in a home can have a negative impact on mental health. Numerous reports and studies indicate that spending time in outdoor areas can significantly improve mood and give a sense of calmness. In this fast-paced world, individuals require opportunities to dedicate themselves in a green space as a temporary escape from their demanding and stressful daily routines. A university student, for example, can relieve his stress and anxiety by unwinding on a balcony. In contrast, an insufficient amount of outdoor spaces may lead to feelings of confinement and elevate stress levels.

Secondly, limited access to green spaces can lead to various physical health issues. Since residents have little or no access to engage in outdoor activities such as gardening, biking, and doing exercises, they may experience health conditions due to less physical activity, like obesity and high blood pressure. Furthermore,inadequate open space will provide less sunlight and insufficient ventilation which are vital for bone health, respiratory functions, and the immune system. A teenager, for instance, might be more inclined to play excessive hours of video games every day, might likely suffer back pain or obesity if he has little opportunity to take part in outdoor activities.

In conclusion, having access to an open area in a home plays a significant role in the overall well-being of the household members. City planners should address the issue of restricted outdoor areas to reduce the risks of several mental and physical health problems for city dwellers.