In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many nations, the percentage of bicycle users, as a primary means of transportation, has reduced significantly even if the advantages of such a transport benefits the well being of both the person and the planet. This essay will discuss the prime reason for such a change, which is getting to work on time, and also encourage more cyclers by using them for short travel purposes.

First and foremost, people tend to use cars and other means of transport over cycles as they need to be at work on time. Cycling to their offices is both time consuming as well as impossible because of the distance between their home and workspace. It is also hard to use cycles on rough terrain, but cars have an advantage in such situations. Due to time constraints and easier mode of travel, both of which are not possible by cycles, there is an increasing use of fuel based vehicles. For example, a newspaper report showed that in India, the amount of cycles on the road before mid ninteenth century was more than 50,000 wheres now its less than 5,000.

Despite such reasons, people can still be made motivated to use bicycles for short travels such as for grocery shopping. When people are shown the negative impacts that modern transport causes, then it will automatically increase the number of cyclers. Encouraging people to use bicycles for some minute tasks is a great way to start. This, in turn, will motivate the younger generation to use this transport and thus the cycling population will increase. For instance, in many Scandinavian countries, the number of cyclists are more as such habits were inculcated from childhood onwards.

In conclusion, bicyclists are less in today’s world due to the faster transportation available. People can be encouraged to use bicycles for doing mineal tasks to overturn the existing issue.