In many cities around the world pollution levels have risen in recent years. Why are some cities becoming more polluted? What effects does this have?

Whether the increase in pollution levels in many cities has become a subject of debate in recent years. It is obvious that the excessive use of environmentally unfriendly transportation and industrial waste are to blame for this negative tendency, with its main consequences being health issues and environmental destruction.

There are two pivotal reasons why environmental contamination has worsened in the last few years. Firstly, the rapid increase in private vehicles and their usage leads to harmful gas emissions. To be more specific, people rely on private cars or motorcycles instead of public transport. Consequently, this situation brings about a high level of carbon emissions. Another significant factor contributing to this situation is industrial waste. To be more precise, huge factories frequently dispose of waste into rivers and release toxic gases into the air, leading to severe environmental contamination.

This phenomenon might influence society in several ways, particularly in terms of health problems and environmental depletion. Firstly, polluted air and water can cause illnesses and terrible health issues. For example, in big cities such as Beijing and Delhi, the contamination level is far higher; therefore, people who suffer from chronic problems prefer to wear masks to protect themselves. Secondly, increasing hazardous gas emissions in the air can cause an imbalance in oxygen levels. Thus, many species lose their habitats, and this leads to extinction.

In conclusion, the excessive use of non-eco-friendly private vehicles and industrial waste are considered to be the main causes of this underlying tendency, while this issue will negatively affect not only people’s health but also endanger the environment, making it one of the most serious problems faced by modern society.