In many cities, cars dominate the roads. They cause accidents, injuries, and air pollution, making life dangerous for others. It is therefore necessary to reduce the number of cars and encourage alternative forms of transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people argued that the roads are dominated by cars because of various consequences and they make other lives more dangerous. Some advocates even reckoned that reducing the number of cars and cultivating other forms of transport is necessary. This essay is examining this statement before making a conclusion that those advocates are true.

When it comes to cars’ drawbacks, they can cause more serious accidents and injuries compared to other vehicles. A car-related accident is usually fatal, while motors can only cause milder injuries like scratches or broken bones. Moreover, they exhaust a large amount of gas, which is known to pollute the air. According to a research summary of the Institute of Environment Science, a public agency of the Ministry of Resources and Environment, the dense amount of cars is the main contributor to terrible air quality in many big cities like Hanoi.

That said, this type of vehicle is preferred by their merits. Cars protect their users on a scorching hot or heavily rainy day and even other extreme weather, what motors and other vehicles cannot. Some people also contended that cars have large capacity of seats. Various types of cars can have enough space for 4 to 8 people. Therefore, it is more convenient for a family to drive a car than other types of transport.

However, those advantageous functions are not enough at the expense of their consequences. Therefore, fostering other alternative forms of transport is vital. Public transport like trams or buses can still keep the advantages of cars in protection and seats while decreasing their defects to the minimum. Bicycles are also a recommended solution. Using bicycles as an initiative to solve the problem of pollution is popularly complemented in many developed nations like Japan or countries of the European Union.

In conclusion, despite their health-related plus side and convenience, cars are responsible for deadly accidents and air pollution. It is vital for every nation to foster the use of public transports or bicycles to solve this controversal problem.