In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, in schools, offices and home in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages.

It is common to designate different locations for commercial, educational, executive, and residential purposes in cities and keep them away from each other. I believe that the benefits of this trend surpass the harms, and this essay delves deeper into this issue.

Some may argue that centralizing all services to one or a few locations within towns leads to inequalities in access to these amenities because some people will inevitably reside further away from the facilities’ center. However, this problem can be easily solved by providing citizens with a reliable public transportation system to and from such centers. For instance, regular microbuses take people to the market center where I live, and this has made it easy for everyone to go there.

On the other hand, this policy makes it easier for people to find their desired facility because it gathers them all in one place. Moreover, it makes residential areas calmer and cleaner by moving shops, restaurants, and other amenities away from them. For example, I used to live in Maadi, where the shops are present side by side to houses, then I moved to New Cairo, where this policy is implemented, and I have witnessed a dramatic improvement in the luxury and quietness of my place of residence.

In summary, although grouping all utilities in one place may lead them to be far from some individuals, it has the benefits of keeping the tranquility and sanitation in residential areas and making it easier to reach the different services as well. Therefore, this essay concludes that the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages.