In many cities, the use of public transport is increasing, while the number of private cars is decreasing. What are the main reasons for this trend? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most urban dwellers tend to use public transportation rather than private cars for several reasons. I believe this is a positive development for some reasons.

One of the reasons why people tend to use public transportation is that it takes less time to commute rather than using a private car. Most governments started making new bus lanes so they can encourage people to use public transportation. Using a car can take time because of traffic jams, but city dwellers can save time by using buses or underground transportation. Another reason is that owning a car can take a substantial amount of money, while public transportation can be cheaper. For example, in Azerbaijan, people with private cars should pay taxes and have more other expenses. On the other hand, public transportation is much cheaper and as a result city dwellers tend to opt for public transportation.

The reason why it is a positive development is that there is not much traffic congestion because of increased use of ride-sharing. After most people started using public transportation instead of private cars, the number of traffic jams in big cities has reduced because of the decreased usage of private cars. Another reason is that it is environmentally friendly. When using petrol-powered vehicles, harmful gases are leaked to the atmosphere and ride-sharing is a good way to reduce the exhaust fumes. For instance, because people opt for public transportation the quality of air has improved and that also leads to the improvement of people’s overall health.

In summary, because of main reasons, such as saving time and money, city dwellers use public transportation more. I believe it is a positive development because of the reduced number of traffic jams and the fact that it is environmentally-friendly.