In many cities, the use of public transport is increasing, while the number of private cars is decreasing. What are the main reasons for this trend? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In numerous cities, the usage of public transportation is proliferating, while the large amount of private cars is reducing. There are several reasons why urban dwellers tend to opt for this trend; I firmly believe that it plays a beneficial role in development.

First and foremost, one of the main reasons is the promotion of eco-friendly movements by governments, which can be helpful for environmental stability. By doing that, they direct citizens to reduce purchasing in the car industry, out of respect for nature. As it may contribute to severe man-made disasters, which stem from heavy industry, the presence of exhaust fumes, and fossil fuels. For instance, in Germany, some restrictions were established about vehicles energized by gasoline, which can implement a desperation situation. It is the reason why Germans moved on from cars to public and light transports. As a result, this idea is spreading over the world from Europe to America, in order to save our environment.

In addition to the above, another reason is the increment in gasoline costs and average statistics of charges. Thanks to these innovations, many individuals nowadays prefer to spend much less money on public vehicles rather than private ones. As the average expenditure may constitute approximately 20 percent of income, which can be unprofitable for the mean population, to illustrate, only 17 percent of the world population has this opportunity, while others are making use of public carriage. As a result, governments can not only alleviate some traffic congestion problems but also mitigate higher costs for urban dwellers.

In summary, by sticking to these options, humans can ensure not only their financial stability but also the environment’s state.