In many companies, money is used as the key component to keep and push staff. Some people think that it is the most effective way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

A fulfilling career is definitely a dream of most people. Hence, some people take the view that financial incentives should be utilized as the most effective measure to attract and push employees. I agree with this idea to some extent and this essay will clarify my position.

To begin with, the bottom line is that people go to work basically for earning a living. In fact, this is the key factor that makes people devote themselves to a certain job as they need to earn money to raise their families and to save for rainy days. Therefore, by providing financial gifts, businesses show their appreciation to their staff and it is also a real reflection that they treasure such staff. In most cultures, people’s income is seen as a measurement of their success in the workplace. For instance, findings from different studies indicate that staff who get the prompt encouragement and money gifts from companies often perform better at work and push their colleagues as well. As people are well aware that their income will increase when their productivity is improved, they are likely to invest more energy in their work and work with full commitment. No matter what people do and where they live, finance is always regarded as a key element to push people at work and we are all conscious about the power of money. In Vietnam, money is always thought of as one of the best things to make staff thrive at work.

It is, however, a fact that there are other factors and ways to inspire working people. Money is really essential, but it is not everything for everyone. For some people, their desire for working comes from their personal passion and it is not just about money and fame. Evidence shows that some people work out of a desire to serve others or to make a difference in the lives of others. In this case, it is unjustified to use money as a measure to encourage people. For instance, the vast majority of religious people are immune to the power of money and material possessions, making them work on the basis of their faith and love for fellow human beings. From another perspective, the values from the work, the vision of employers, the friendliness of the workplace and the connection with customers are also critical to many people. There is a sense among many people that these components are no less important than income. Some research on a global scale give substance to the argument that money is important, but it is not the sole reason for people at work.

In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that money is integral to most people and it is widely used as a way to push staff. However, there are other factors that are equally important to people when it comes to their attitude in the workplace.