Write about the following topic: It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Currently, local shops are said to lag behind because of the high competition among bigger malls and online trade, which small traders cannot handle. Moreover, due to this fact local communities cannot boost their income; therefore, customers should pay more attention to them to improve their situation.

To begin with, small businesses suffer noticeably because of the inability to compete with well-known brands, which do not always surpass local markets in diversity and quality of goods. However, local shops cannot advert their supplies as successful as competetors because of the lack of connections in the industry and the lack of economic fundings from the government. Consequently, the rate of the possible buyers decline significantly, resulting not only in the fail of gaining the needed reputation but also in the decrease of their sales as they could not find the target audience. As a result, small local markets are tend to close in the first month of working since they are not profitable for the owners despite their interesting merch.

To alleviate this condition of such shops individuals should try to support small industries by purchasing their goods. If people paid more attention to good-quality items instead of the ones from the most popular franchises, they would notice more low-cost small businesses with a wide range of options. For instance, we can buy more local food and clothes, providing economical support for local makers and also enjoying items by ourselves. Only by doing this can we encourage small shops to stay at the market and continue their labor.

In conclusion, I consider that local communities suffer a lot because of the competition, but people can mitigate the effects of it to local shops.