In many countries, a small number of people have extremely high annual incomes. These people should be required to pay a much higher rate of income tax. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many countries, a few people earn extremely higher than the rest and I do not completely agree on asking those people to pay a much higher rate of income tax than the others do. Ideally, it is logical for a high earning person to pay higher income tax for the country, unless he/ she gets some kind of beneficiary back from the country by paying those taxes.

Nirmala Sitharaman had the enforced the law that says people earning above 12.75 Lakhs per annum are supposed to pay around 33% percentage of their annual income to the government. In this regard, my father earns around a crore every and pays almost 30 lakhs to government in the name of taxes and what he gets back in return is almost negligible. Our main electric board’s fuse was removed by the EB commission without informing us for being one day late for the bills.

On the other side of this discussion, income taxes are the only sources of income to the government in democracy, and a developing nation should make such policies to be independent soon like other countries.

In conclusion to the discussion, if the citizen gets all the benefits from the country for paying his taxes right, then I agree with the opinion that people with higher annual incomes should pay higher rate of income tax. Only if the soul reason of asking a citizen to pay their income taxes are met, there will be a motivation to pay higher tax rates to the country.