In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The more rapidly the economy develops, the more bustling the big cities are, leading to a significant transformation of the population between rural and urban. As a consequence, the outskirt’s population density is on its way to declining, which results in whether it is positive or negative, in terms of social and economic issues. I will delve into the perspective of the advantages and the drawbacks of this tendency with reliable evidence that can be seen in the contemporary era.

Nowadays, globalization has created a lot of work opportunities, which has affected the world economy and the countryside, leading to the situation where rural people are trying to improve their lives with relocation and many residents have found employment in cities. For instance, Ho Chi Minh City, the most dynamic city in the Southeast has been witnessing numerous individuals emigrating from different towns and remote areas, fostering the major industries to develop considerably. Furthermore, a mass transfer of rural students to modernized amenities in the central downtowns to cultivate innovative education contributes to the enhancement of citizens’ educational levels. To cite an example, way back to Ho Chi Minh city, where most of the professors and specialized engineers are educated, it is them who have dedicated a thousand inventions to the nation, some of them go back to their hometown to work as teachers or run their own firms, being a plus to boost the economy in rural.

On the other hand, the widening gap of the population in urban and remote areas comes with the shortage of good-skilled workers in small villages. For example, many outskirt areas have turned into ghost towns due to a lack of desired jobs that individuals are looking for. As a result, a decrease in the population in the countryside conversely impacts the statistical numbers of small villages around the world. Additionally, the tendency to live in busy towns easily consists of overwhelmed emigrated people leading to the terrorism of the national environment caused by air and noise pollution. For example, Tokyo in Japan is struggling with overpopulation, which is suffering from the pressure of heavy traffic, polluted rivers, and even drinking water sources.

To sum up, undeniable factors suggest that there exists some certain benefit of moving trend from living in rural areas to being based in large cities. In my perspective, the negative consequences of this tendency outweigh the positive ones, which basically causes an erasing of small villages’ survival, which plays an important role in rural development.