In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion

It is said that people live longer, and many nations worldwide have predicted that the lives of the elderly are extending these years. In fact, I believe that the extended lifespan of older people is a significant merit, allowing them to witness the growth experiences of the next generation and another demerit is about the medical challenges for most of the countires.

First, an increased life expectancy enables older individuals to share meaningful moments with their families, especially their grandchildren, who can participate in their upbringing. Conversely, when individuals have a shorter lifespan, they find that their time with family is limited, which can affect their emotional connections. For instance, in current Taiwanese society, older generations often look after their grandchildren because their parents are busy, making most of them spend more time engaging with their grandkids.

Another drawback I would like to focus is that the growing elderly population has led to a surge in the demand for medical care. As people become older, individual health can decline, particularly in the immune system which makes older adults be more vulnerable to various diseases and infections. Hence, this poses a problem for our healthcare systems, which often result in a shortage of medical professionals. For example, according to Google News, for today’s healthcare situation in Britain, it has led hospitals to recruit many nurses from overseas in an effort to meet the growing demands of the medical care system.

To concluded, while the prolonged lives of the elderly offer benefits by enhancing familial interactions, they also present challenges, particularly an increase in the demand for medical care. Thus, it is imperative for all countries to address the healthcare needs of an aging demographic to ensure a balanced and sustainable quality of life.