In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In many places, children are involved in various types of employment. Some would say that this is utterly wrong, while others are of the opinion that this is fine because it prepares them for the workforce. This essay agrees with the latter point and will show that, despite some concerns about its effect on education, working at a young age can enhance a person’s character.

It is often argued that working before the age of eighteen is wrong because it impacts how successful children are in their studies. This is because they are under increasing pressure to perform academically, and a job will force them to reduce the time they have to study. For example, a UK children’s charity found that children who worked part-time were less likely to achieve higher grades than those who did not. However, I believe the lessons children can learn from working are invaluable.

Getting a part-time job contributes towards children’s character development. It teaches them the value of hard work and exposes them to the real world, where they learn things they would never learn in the classroom. This can also result in them working harder and being more disciplined at school. For example, a teenager working in a restaurant for a few hours at the weekend can learn how to interact with the general public without their academic performance being negatively affected. For this reason, I believe that concerns about work’s negative effects on education are unfounded.

In conclusion, despite fears that children will neglect their studies if they are required to work, this essay thinks that a little work experience at a young age can build character, and actually help students achieve their educational goals.