In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is not uncommon to find children involving in different kinds of paid jobs. While some see this as a controversy, other believe working is an opportunity for children to learn practical skills. Personally, I do not agree with children doing paid jobs.

Firstly, the risk of being mistreated is higher among underaged workers. Even though adult staff being treated poorly is not anything new, at least these people understand that they are not getting the treatment they deserve. On the other hand, children, who have a lack of legal knowledge, can be manipulated by their supervisors. For instance, child labour is a disaster in many third world countries. The reason why they are the preferred worker is because of their low awareness of workers’ right. Some of them are underpaid or even not being paid after hours or hard work.

Secondly, education is the priority for children. The key of receiving education is to prepare students with the sufficient knowledge for their future jobs. Children are at the time that they should be paying effort in absorb knowledge, so they can have more choices of career when they grow up. In underdeveloped countries, some low skilled workers have been doing the same job after dropping out of school at a young age. Because of their education limitation, these workers do not get the chance to get another job with better salary.

In conclusion, children doing paid work should not be promoted, as they are more likely to be treated unfairly due to the lack of knowledge of basic right. In addition, children should prioritize their studies before getting a real job.