In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, children in many countries have more freedom compared to the past. While this development has some disadvantages, personally, I believe that the overall benefits of giving children freedom outweigh its drawbacks.

First of all, more freedom encourages independence and improves social skills. If parents do not control everything, youngsters learn how to make decisions about their studies or hobbies and make choices. Not only it enhances decision-making skills, but also prepares them for future university life and job market. Moreover, it might help them develop new interests through exploration of different subjects and interaction with peers. For example, simply, through playing games some children improve critical thinking skills and learn how to make decisions in hard times.

However, there are some disadvantages, that cannot be overlooked. Without good guidance from teachers and parents, they may make poor decisions or develop bad habits, which can derail their future development. Furthermore, in some cases adolescents may influenced by peers and be involved in crime or drugs.

In my opinion, balanced approach that values children’s freedom and structured guidance from their guardians and educators can change everything. Children in today’s society tend to be more independent and do not rely on other people’s assistance, so forcing them to do unwanted choices or prevent from making decisions towards their personal life would be unfair.

In conclusion, while freedom for children may develop social skills and prepare them for future life, there are some drawbacks that cannot be overlooked. From my perspective, it is better to provide children more space and assist in enhancing their skills.