In many countries, cities are expanding to provide more housing and business space. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In modern times, cities in many countries are expanding, as the demand for housing and business areas is growing. This development present both notable advantages and certain disadvantages. This essay will examine the key benefits before analysing the potential drawbacks.

One major advantage of the expansion of areas is more job opportunities. While more businesses are built, many companies look for employees. As a result, expansion provides unemployed people with workplace and improves individuals’ income . For example, launching new shopping centers, as well as offices and factories provide employment for hundreds of people. Therefore, this development creates more business spaces and improve humans’ standard of living. Admittedly, construction of houses and apartments reduce housing shortages, especially in countries with the growing population. Consequently, it helps to decrease overcrowding in big cities.

On the other hand, a significant disadvantage of urban sprawl is its damage for the environment. This occurs because green spaces can be destroyed to build new residential areas and commercial buildings. Businesses such as factories, manufacturing or housing require deforestation, which may lead to the biodiversity loss. For instance, in many countries some bird species lose their natural habitats when forests are cleared. Overall, this highlights the negative consequences of the expansion of cities, harming nature.

In conclusion, urbanising many cities has both positive and negative consequences. While it provides more housing and workplaces, benefiting humans’ income and standards of living, it may also damage the environment by destroying green spaces and biodiversity loss. It is recommended to have a careful planning, such as environmentally-friendly housing projects to balance urbanizing with environment.