In many countries, fast food is becoming a part of daily life. Some people believe that this has a bad effect on lifestyle and diet. Others think it is a convenient and affordable way to eat. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, there has been a significant surge in the consumption of fast food, in various countries. It is resulting in different health issues among people, some individuals consider that it is choice of the person eating it, whereas other think that authorities should take steps to reduce its consumption. From my perspective, alone governments can do nothing, a combined effort is needed by the people and the policy makers.

On the one hand, it is considered that excessive consumption of junk food is a personal choice of individuals; everyone is responsible of its own health. This unhealthy eating habit is resulting in problems like obesity and metabolic syndrome –combination of hypertension, diabetes mellitus, hyperlipidemia– which may lead to cardiac issues. Despite all theses problems associated, people are preferring to consume them as they are more palatable and easily acessible nowadays.

On the other hand, some individuals think that the governments should tackle the excessive junk food usage by enforcing stringent rules and regulations. This habit is causing medical issues in adults as well as children. For instance, there is a considerable increase in obesity and its related heart problems among the younger age groups. Governments can increase awareness among public by arranging seminars and by showing advertisements, explaining the harmful effects. Moreover, the sales taxes can be increased on fast food, to discourage its buyers.

In conclusion, as it’s a person’s own preference to decide whatever he wants to eat. However, due to an exponential rise in the certain diseases caused by fast food, a hybrid approach is mandatary, in which general public and policy makers will together promote eating of healthy food, which will eventually ensure well-being of a society.