In many countries, fast food is becoming a part of daily life. Some people believe that this has a bad effect on lifestyle and diet. Others think it is a convenient and affordable way to eat. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent days, the replacement of traditional food with international junk food has become one of the most debated topics in many nations. Although some people agree with this phenomenon, I firmly believe that traditional food is a better choice for preserving national identity and healthy impacts.

There are several major factors of excessive consumption of fast food. In a modern world where most people are too busy to cook by themselves, they really need a resource of food to provide them quick meals, and junk food is the best choice for them. For example, full-time workers cannot go back to home to make homemade dishes, so they tend to order processed food from KFC or Macdonald’s which are well-known fast food companies in the world. Moreover, some families choose to buy some meals with affordable prices over cooking at home. For instance spending 10 dollars for a cup of cola with three chicken swings is a good choice for their tight budget, as they can buy a lot of food with not much money.

However, fast food causes diverse harm to our health. Because it is so high in calories and saturated fat with a big amount of unhealthy oil, people can suffer from various diseases such as obesity, diabetes or heart diseases if they consume it for a long term. In addition, nowadays, more and more families tend to dine out. As a result, they do not spend time together to cook food which can make happy memories, this weakens emotional connection among family members.

On the other hand, traditional food is a healthier alternative because people can control the ingredients to make home-cooked meals, and ensure that those dishes are wholesome for their health. In addition, recipes are passed down through generations, so unique national identity and culinary tradition can be preserved and respected by young individuals. Through eating and sharing traditional dishes, family members can have a sense of belonging, resulting in strengthening family bonds.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that traditional food can not be replaced by fast food due to its values with each nation in the world. To solve this urgent issue, governments should limit the expansion of fast food restaurants, and each resident should spend a little time to prepare for home-cooked meals to protect our health.