In many countries, formal exams are used to access assess students' ability and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using the formal exams to assess students' abilities? Do you think benefits of using formal exams outweighs the drawbacks.

Conducting formal exams to assess student’s abilities and to judge the success of their education are common in many countries. This will benefit the student’s abilities by providing continuous practice of the main exam and by maintaining focus of the students in their education. Whereas, some students feel stressed by continuous formal exams which causes loosing focus on their education. But, I believe that formal exams will benefit the students much more than being a drawback.

To begin with, students possess great understandings about the main exam by attending the formal exams. Also, this will provide focus and motive to ace their main exam and also reduces any apprehensive feeling as formal exams guides the way of main exam beforehand. For example, a higher secondary student said to the reporter that their schools used to conduct formal exams thrice in a year which helped them to understand exactly about the main exam and face the exam without any nervousness and stated it is one of the reason to score state first rank. Albeit, some students stressed and overloaded by the continuous practice of formal exam, this reduces interest and focus on their education and fails to do their best in the final exam. For instance, a news reported that a boy who excelled in his grade at the start of higher secondary, losses concentration and fall to the last position of the class. Then, he stated that formal exams were made mandatory and teachers started stressing the students to score good in the exams which caused loss of concentration in my education.

Furthermore, I reckon that formal exams have more benefits than drawbacks because in school days, i used to study for formal exams which made the process of studying for the final exams easier. I covered mostly all the portion in the formal exams and the only thing I did in the final exam is revising it properly. Generally, I consider if the students attend the formal exams without any compulsion of teachers or parents they can gain a huge knowledge and experience from it.

Therefore, I conclude that formal exams has its own good and bad aspects but if the exams are without the compulsion of others, the students will gain advantages only from the formal exams. So, the benefits of formal exams outweigh the drawbacks with certain changes in action.