In many countries, formal exams are used to access assess students' ability and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using the formal exams to assess students' abilities? Do you think benefits of using formal exams outweighs the drawbacks.

In schools and colleges, formal exams are conducted to check the knowledge of students. There are several benefits of conducting official tests which I will discuss in further paragraphs. I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of using this method and will conclude why I think the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.

To begin, tests and examinations are created to check the knowledge and capability of students. It helps teachers determine whether the learners have accurate, and enough knowledge about the subject being taught. Formal examinations offer everyone the same chance to do well; grading the exams helps students understand where they are lacking, and it gives a clear explanation of where to focus while preparing. Additionally, if no exams were conducted there would be no way of telling if what novices are learning is accurate. Moreover, it also promotes competition among students, due to which, they work hard to improve their knowledge and skills. Thus, formal examination helps promote the accuracy of knowledge, acknowledging the lacking factors to improve in the future.

On the other hand, for some students, examinations have a negative effect. Some people do not do well under pressure and these tests break their confidence in themselves. These tests can lead to anxiety and potentially negatively impact a child’s mental health. Proponents view that exams tend to favor rote memorization instead of critical thinking and creativity. Many times, an otherwise good student may get anxious or confused under strict exam conditions and may not perform up to the mark. Tests determine the book knowledge of students and demotivate them if not graded well.

In my opinion, while I acknowledge the demerits of formal tests, I believe that the merits of this outweigh the demerits. Formal exams are a great tool to check student’s growth and understanding of a subject and help them improve their performance in the sections where they are lacking.