In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved?

It is true that there is a significant incline in the amount of solid waste that is discarded by public through out the globe.There are few factors responsible for this alarming issue and some initiatives can be taken to tackle this problem.

To begin with, there are few reasons due to which this issue becomes a global concern. Firstly, this is a result of consumer culture as people are living in materialistic society in which they do not prefer to reuse the things and always want to buy new products . Secondly, companies can also be blamed for this surge of waste as society is bombarded with commercials in which they easily get allured by advertisements. These companies also use excessive packaging material to make the products more colorful and attractive to allure the customers which ultimately leads to increase the level of trash. Finally, lack of resources is also one of the reason responsible for this, due to lack of space, industry, transportation authorities are not able to recycle used products .

Due to excessive fuel consumption in recycling industry and transportation, the loss involved in it is more than the actual value of the new product which also discourage companies to recycle .This surmountable problem can be tackled by few steps . First and foremost solution is the awareness in the society about the repercussions of this inclining household garbage by showing the figures of environmental pollution.This can also be done by dedicating a special day to promote recycling . For example, Americans celebrate America Recycle Day(ARD) every year in which they run nation wise campaigns in the entire nation . Moreover, government can promote the use of reusable products and bags by giving tax incentives to retailers who use disposable packaging material, example paper bags . Economic benefits for recycling industry can also help to boost it by giving tax rebates and offering rewards. Last but not least, state should also put some legal limits on the packaging material which can help to reduce the amount of trash in the surrounding.

In conclusion, nodoubt certain factors exist which are the root cause of this burgeoning issue in the society, however this can be ameliorated by collaborative steps by state and individuals.