In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved?

Globally, and mostly as a result of the COVID-19 epidemic, there has been an upsurge in the consumption of goods and services. As a result, there has been more waste during the COVID-19 epidemic. Plastic bottles, aluminium foil containers, use and toss gloves and masks, and other items were among the waste produced by the COVID-19 epidemic. The remainder of this article will go into further depth on each of these topics.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons why this problem has attracted attention from all around the world. Nowadays, buying new goods is preferred than recycling old ones. No matter if it’s the plastic bags we use to carry groceries and other products or the ordinary containers we use to store food, as we consume more and more, there is a higher waste produced. Time constraints and convenience have made “ordering in” the new standard, leaving only self-satisfaction and environmentally harmful plastic garbage behind when a home-cooked meal is missed. In order to meet this problem, a variety of methods might be modified. The delivery of food must be done in an environmentally friendly and green manner, according to eateries. Food containers made of recyclable and biodegradable materials are two examples of how these modifications might be adopted.

We may use the example of a company that began selling meals in leaf-based containers in Germany. This product is similar to that which is popular in the Indian street food environment. Additionally, garbage should not be dumped in landfills, rivers, oceans, or seas. Recycling should also be promoted. As a result, both the environment and people’s daily lives are more adversely affected by the trash dilemma. However, in order to manage these issues and regulate home trash, the government must set up the proper laws and regulations.