In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved?

Many nations face the situation of daily growing household rubbish, such as products’ wrapping. This problem seems to be caused by widespread use of cheap and not ecologically-friendly materials by corporations, that produce consumer goods and overconsumption among people. These reasons will be explored in this essay along with possible solutions of imposing fines on large companies and adopting programms that increase awareness about negative consequences of rising amounts of rubbish.

The foremost cause of increasing waste is enourmous production of goods made of materials which can not be recycled. This is because many companies that make consumer goods tend to decrease their costs by manufacturing products with cheaper components, which usually negatively affect environment. Such large production leads to the formation of huge number of dumps in rural and urban areas. In order to alleviate this problem, government can impose higher fees on corporations that do not follow sustainability principles. This will diminish the number of firms that produce goods with elements that can cause excessive amounts of rubbish, because otherwise these organisations will have to spend more money to pay fines. For example, European Union created rules that obligate corporations to decrease unsustainable packaging for their products. This contributes to the decline in the amounts of waste produced by european countries.

Another possible reason is overconsumption among citizens. In other words, many people buy excessive amounts of goods which they are not able to use up and frequently just throw away. If every member of the family usually buys products that they can not physically intake, the overall waste of a household increases. This problem can be addressed by non-profit organisations that are connected with environmental agenda. They may adopt educational programms that will increase awareness among people about disadvantages of growing amounts of debris and its impact on the ecology of cities. This can contribute to more concious consumption among people as they aware of the effect their actions may have on the environment.

In conclusion, problem of increasing rubbish among households can be caused by excessive production of goods using unsustainable materials and society’s overconsumption. The most viable solutions to resolve these issues can be introduction of fines for large companies and adoption of programs that educate people about threat of excessive products’ intake.