In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved?

At present, many countries are facing the problem of household waste that is rising daily. This is mainly because of the increasing food consumption around the world and companies which are making food packages smaller and smaller every year. Dealing with this issue involves making the waste recycling system more effective and standardising the size of the packages.

One of the main causes of the problem is that the world population is growing at rapid rates, therefore, overall food consumption all over the globe is growing . In other words, the world population approximately a century ago was as many as half of the population nowadays, . If we have 8 billion people now, there were only 4 billion people back then. So, it means that the average food that was consumed by people grew by approximately two times. The solution is for the government to subsidise the food recycling companies, which would make the waste recollection system more effective.

Another reason is that companies are cutting the package sizes, in order to minimise the expenditure. For example, several decades ago the average milk bottle was 1000 ml, whereas now it is 900 ml. Although it may seem as a little difference, it is causing the amount of waste to experience a significant growth. To tackle this issue, the government should make a standard size for bottles, packages in order to reduce the garbage.

In conclusion, the amount of household waste is rising rapidly all over the world due to such reasons as growing food consumption and food packages that are being replaced by smaller ones. This issue, however, can be addressed by governments by sponsoring waste specified companies and normalising the average size of bottles.