In many countries levels of health and fitness are decreasing and average weights are increasing. What are the causes of this problem and possible solution?

There are those nations which are experiencing a decrease in the levels of populaation’s health and fitness and a growth in the weight rates. I think that this is mainly due to improvements in a fast-food industry and a sedentary lifestyle. To tackle this issue, governments should impose taxes on fast food and businesses should ban working at home.

The primary reasons why the average weight rates are rising are the refinement of fast food and leading a sedentary lifestyle. Fast food have become more tasty with the emergence of new flavorings and spices, while it also became more accessible the introduction of different delivery methods. Furthermore, advancements in technology have switched many work-related operations and processes into a digital format, leading people to work sitting aat home. For instance, there was a significant rise in obesity rates during Covid 19, as many people worked remotely at that time.

One of the greatest solutions could be excise on fast food and restrictions on remote working. Governments should impose taxes on fast food, which would pass on to people in the form of higher prices, discouraging them from purchasing fast food. Moreover, businesses should limit working at home by setting a designated timetable when they can work either at home or in the office. This would encourage workers to walk more while commuting to workplaces, thus having more physical activity. A case in point is Google company, which offers its employees only a limited amount of time when they can work remotely sitting at home.

In conclusion, the enhancement of a fast-food industry and adopting a sedentary lifestyle due to technological advancements are the prime reasons why people’s weights are rising and the levels of fitness worsening. To resolve this issue, governemnts should levy taes on fast food, whereas businesses should set restrictions on the time of remote working.