In many countries, more and more people are choosing to buy sugar-sweetened drinks, which results in health problems. Some people think that the government should introduce a tax on these drinks to encourage a healthy diet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days people are tending to have new addiction to sweetened drinks, which in longer perspective causes health problems. There is an argument on whether government should put extra taxes on these sugar drinks. From my point of view, it will generally make people obviate their addictions.

On the on hand, sugar sweetened drinks such as Сoke, or Fanta are irreplaceable in some sorts of society, because people usually drink these liquids in according to substitute their other more detrimental addictions such as smoking, alcoholism, and even for those who is being addicted to narcotic substances. However, for some individuals it seems better to be addicted to coke or any other sugar drink rather than those addictions which may relate them to death even faster than the sugar itself. But little they realize to how accidental and fatal outcomes can lead overconsumption of sugar.

On the other hand, these drinks should be taxed to tackle the problems caused by these sweetened drinks. Firstly, too much consumption of sugar can lead to obesity that overall will have significant decrease in mobility of people. Consequently, it will occur on the Olympic success of the government. To prevent these outcomes government should release the new taxes for drinks that have outranged the limit per liter of drink it self. Therefore, not only does the taxes increase the revenue of government, but also boosts the overall health of population.

Overall, some people with addictions to harmful substances avoid them by drinking sugar drinks, whereas, it has negative effects on the health of those people such as obesity. However, this problem may fade when government releases new taxes for sugar in such sweetened drinks. Moreover, it will help people to be more fit and be physically better.