In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science at university. What are the causes of this? What effects does it have on society?

For those wishing to acquire knowledge at the university, there is a wide range of subjects available these days. However, it has been apparent that not all students around the world are opting to study science in their tertiary education. In this essay, I will attempt to shed light on some of the causes of this situation and also propose some counter-effects that they have on society.

There are two primary reasons that can explain why a limited number of students at universities intend to choose science-related subjects. One of these has to do with the difficulty perceived from this subject. It is true that science fields such as chemistry, astronomy, and physics are hard to master due to the need for a deep understanding through research and various applications to solve issues based on fixed facts and memorization. This challenge, in effect, serves as discouragement to students who do not want to fail exams and assignments from these subjects. Another crucial factor is the insufficient financial reward from majoring in science. Those who go for science domains can imagine their future working for such a small salary in a laboratory or observatory. Consequently, such a future, with high probability, is less likely to be as motivating as opening a business or private company to make fortune, compared to those who choose business or management entrepreneurship.

While understanding how this phenomenon of limited people choosing science fields came about, it is important to consider what implications it has on society. First and foremost, as a result of the shortage of science graduates, society will see gaps in certain fields of knowledge. Biology and medicine are a clear case in this situation; if there are an inadequate number of biologists and medical professionals, we will fail to educate our children about the consequences of climate change and wildlife connections, as well as identify issues caused by the lack of effective medicines to treat our ailments, respectively. This, in turn, causes extra expenses to the government by hiring specialists from other nations and importing lavish pharmaceuticals. Another negative social impact is delays in scientific research and innovation. The deficiency of science experts slows down a country’s development, as their help is a necessary factor in this case. Thus, it is crucial for any society to have a decent number of university students doing science.

In conclusion, the reason why so many university students are unwilling to study science subjects is mostly caused by personal difficulty and financial issues. Yet, this decision is unfavorable for the community since it can lead to gaps in certain knowledge as well as hinder the nation’s progress.