In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science at university. What are the causes of this? What effects does it have on society?

In recent years, selection of major subjects for higher studies have sparked considerable debate among students worldwide. Many students are reluctant to select science subjects for their higher education due perception of difficulty, inadequate exposure during early years at school and certain social influences. The decline in science graduates can be detrimental for individuals as well as for society as a whole, as it is a leading cause on unemployment . Consequently, survival in increasingly advancing technological era becomes more challenging.

It is an undeniable fact that many students found science subjects disciplines like physics, chemistry, biology, and information technology difficult in comparison to the arts and business studies the reason is being, the concepts of science are delivered to students by theory only instead of interesting experiments. Moreover, gender stereotypes and influence of society also push individuals of certain class, like females, to refrain from higher education in science and encourage them to opt non-STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) subjects.

The decline in science graduates can yield a technology lag, in almost every field of life including education, healthcare provision and sustainable environmental practices. Nations fall behind in science and technology have to face competition in global market, which is primely based on technology, result in decreasing economic growth and job opportunities.

In conclusion, scientific studies foster the growth and global success of nations, able to create a competent society as well as provide more job opportunities. Therefore, attractive presentation of science subjects from root level should be promoted and social and gender biased factors need not to be overlooked.