In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science at university. What are the causes of this? What effects does it have on society?

It is observed that pupils in some countries are not choosing science at university. There are a few reasons for this such as job scarcity and lack of interest; as a consequence, a nation has to suffer from the shortages of professionals such as doctors, scientists, and also the government has to rely on expats idea and research.

To begin with, due to economic slowdown in such countries it results in fewer job opportunities also low salary offered to many professionals. Additionally, poor infrastructure at university many parents avoid sending their children to pursue their career in science and even students lose interest. Moreover, there are other fascinating subjects which help students to finish within a year and they take up private high paying jobs with fringe benefits.

First, it will definitely have an impact on society because when universities will have fewer number of students automatically there will be shortages in professionals and as a result some requirements would eventually skyrocket at an exorbitant price. Second, the authorities would solely rely on foreign agencies or professionals to conduct any scientific research. For instance, many governments from different countries rely on the NASA space agency to collect satellite reports for weather forecasting.

To conclude, students have shown lack of interest in science at university in many countries. This is due low compensation, unstable career and future. Additionally, it has started showing its effect in some regions where people are paying substantially high medical bills due to less professional doctors and low supply of homemade medicines.