In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In various nations today, supermarkets offer a wide variety of food products from around the world. In my opinion, I find this to be both positive and negative developments.

International food offers an unprecedented array of choices for consumers. By stepping outside of the culinary comfort zone, consumers can expand their palates but also learn about centuries-old traditions that have evolved through a country’s rich history and dynamic culture. For example, in Korea, “Korean Military soup” tells the story of the resilience of the Korean people during one of the most challenging periods of the nation’s history. The soup’s base is similar to many traditional spicy Korean stews combined with American military’s canned goods. Particularly in the last few decades, South Korea has gone through a remarkable period of change, rising from its poverty-stricken state to a highly developed powerhouse. The soup remains one of the last vestiges of the Korean War.

Conversely, this development also brings about several drawbacks. One significant concern is the huge threats for local agricultural economies. When cheaper food from abroad floods into the domestic market, local farmers may find it hard to compete, especially in developing countries. Secondly it is obvious that excessive food imports will inevitably damage the environment. This is because most imported food needs to be transported over long distances, which requires burning large amounts of fossil fuels. This not only increases carbon emissions, but also contributes to global warming and air pollution.

In conclusion, although imported food is beneficial to some extent, it seems to me that a healthy balance between foreign food and domestic food is necessary.