In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Purchasing food produced internationally from supermarkets is gaining traction among shoppers in various nations. From my standpoint, while consuming globally sourced foodstuffs from supermarkets could be beneficial for consumers, I am of the opinion that this trend brings serious drawbacks to the environment and farmers on an international scale, making it a negative development overall.

On the one hand, proponents of buying food worldwide may argue that customers can have a wide range of selections when shopping at supermarkets. This means they have greater access to foreign dishes and out-of-season produce, broadening their culinary horizons and enriching their tastes in daily meals. However, different options for their meal plans could be taken by altering the recipes with the same ingredients, without having to crave overseas products.

On the other hand, I believe that getting food produced across the globe from supermarkets has an adverse impact on both the environment and the farmers. To the climate, this phenomenon increases the carbon footprint of food items when much energy is used in refrigeration, storage, and transport before distributing to local grocery chains. Additionally, since many agricultural conglomerates and distributors stand between buyers and farmers in foreign businesses, farmers are not able to earn much as most of the income belongs to the aforementioned intermediaries.

In conclusion, despite the minor benefits that consumers may gain from buying food from other countries, I am concerned that the disadvantages to the environment and farmers on a global scale are more significant, resulting in global detrimental outcomes in general.