In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

The theme of culture and tradition preservation is broadly discussed nowadays, especially regarding the issue of traditional languages disappearing.

This essay will give an overview of this large and complicated problem by the exanimation of few possible causes and the consideration of different points of view.

Two major contributing factors to this phenomenon appear to be globalization and the innovation of international communication, which facilize the interaction whit various tongues. This factor leads to the integration of many foragers’ words and expressions in our everyday conversations. For example, nowadays numerous English terms have been incorporated by many, because through years it has become the global language. Considering this example the development and change of a native language seems to be a natural process, due to the integration of different culture in a globalized world.

However, in contradiction to the argument above it’s extremely diffused the idea that traditional mother languages should be touched and preserved as much as possible. These tongues are considered milestones in counties’ history, culture and tradition. As result of that many countries are carrying out initiatives with the aim of preserve this part of their cultural essence.

In conclusion, even if it has been accepted that the complete conservation of these culture’s part is a utopistic idea, the preservation efforts are extremely important, especially considering the amount of cultural legacy that we could save for the future generations.