In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

The question of whether the phenomenon of disappearing languages could be considered

inescapably event or individuals and governments should put effort to avoid this loss is complex

and controversial one. This essay will discuss both side of it.

In this globalized world, those who say that the extinction of language is highly likely to

occur, particularly in underdeveloped countries. Firstly, it can be related to mass emigration,

which means the individuals who have responsibility for protecting their mother tongue have

been moving economically powerful countries. The reason can be associated with ensuring their

living standards. Furthermore, it is undeniable that younger generations tend to prefer to learn

widely-used language rather than their traditional ones. This is because of their intention to study

deeply in their interested field, and it can be challenging to acquire excellent academic degree in

the mother tongue.

On the other hand, those who support the perspective of language preservation often say

that once a language disappeared, that country would lose their excessive part of their

irreplaceable culture and heritage. Meaning that most of the exclusive historical writing, and

outstanding works tend to be written or spoken in their own languages, thus unless the

individuals taught youngsters their language, this uniqueness would eventually die out with

them. Another well-known cause can be related to national identity, particularly in this integrated

century, which means that the country not only would lose their language but also might abandon

their independence. According to a recent study by the National university of Mongolia, great

powers in the past used to require they conquered to teach and speak conquerors’ languages,

which was the most influential strategy to control them.

In conclusion, it is unacceptable that the decline of endangered language could become

increasingly evident within the development of this century. However, preserving these

languages is crucial, as they represent invaluable treasures that we must protect, so teaching

teenagers to safeguard their customs and identity is one way to ensure the survival of these

linguistic and cultural heritages.