In many countries, parents put a large amount of pressure on their children to achieve high grades at school, leaving very little to no time for them to take part in leisure activities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In many countries, parents force their kids to reach the best marks at school, so they do not have enough free time to rest. Having higher marks can help pupils get into top-notch universities and reach their goals whereas experiencing a high level of stress could decrease their motivation and harm mental health.

On the one hand, by trying to make your children study better and get a better assessment you are caring about their future, so they can get into a better university. In order to get to the most famous academies one has to have a highly successful school experience showing the best results, while demonstrating a high afterschool activity. Another reason to study well is just to be a highly educated person, so you have topics to discuss with other people. Being well-educated you can surround yourself with more interesting and successful people who can help you with your goals and won’t let you get bored.

On the other hand, being under high pressure for a long time can cause burnout and decrease the will to learn in the future. Undoubtedly, when parents try to persuade kids to learn a lot in school they are doing it with minds about their future, but if they go too far they can have a good result in the short term, but ruin everything in the long term. Another thing to consider is that by causing too many negative emotions at a young age, parents can gift descendants with serious mental disorders. As a result, one can become a successful doctor, scientist, or businessman outside, but a bitterly unhappy person inside.

In conclusion, while it is extremely important to keep an eye on children’s success at school, too much pressure and no free time can have negative consequences. Responsible parents should maintain a balance so that negative effects do not outweigh positive outcomes.