In many countries, people are choosing to live alone at a younger age than ever before. Do the advantages of living alone outweigh the disadvantages?

Living in solitude is getting everyone’s aspiration these days. While this trend entails drawbacks, they are far outweighed by the benefits.

One principal disadvantage of living alone is loneliness. Doing everything single-handedly can bring the feeling of isolation by creating the space for overthinking. Psychological conditions can be a further concern. When people stay by themselves for a long period of time, they start to overreact, so that everything starts to feel out of their control: starting from their mental state ending with their personal goals and career. As a result, there is a potential risk for variety of neurological diseases such as, immense depression, anxiety, and other conditions. Studies found that people who live with their significant others or siblings, live way happier and healthier lives, due to constant interactions and deep conversations that help to stay emotionally stable.

Despite these downsides, the upsides of living alone are much greater. One major advantage is personal growth. Household tasks become easier, and people have more freedom and less responsibilities, which helps them in concentrating on their education or career, leading to better confidence and financial state. For instance, a lot of single women earn much more money compared to those who are married and have kids. Another benefit can be having better relationships with themselves. Dealing with different situations alone creates space for self-reflection, hence, leading to better analysis of their emotions and the way their brain responds to any types of triggers.

In conclusion, although living alone became more popular and can affect poorly on mental health, I believe the advantages, such as personal development and better self-reflection outweigh the disadvantages.