In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, the population is exponentially living long into old age. While some argue that the growth of senior citizens forms the many difficulties for governments, others believe that there are substantial benefits for the society. In my perspective, I strongly concur with the later notion because it brings about opportunities for intergenerational knowledge transfer and enhances cultural richness.

On obvious drawbacks of high numbers of elderly persons is that it can create enormous demands on the nation’s health services. Unlike the young and middle-aged group, retired ones need special attention on health care services. To illustrate, Japan has faced the rise of aging population by spending many public health services and welfare activities. This puts immense pressure on the government to ensure sufficient funding and resources to fill the need of elderly population.

Having said that, an ageing population also offers numerous positive effects to the community. One of the significant advantages of being senior citizens is that young people can benefit what handed by older members of the families for the reason that elderly individuals often possess a wealth of experience, wisdom, and expertise accumulated for a longer time. For instance, grandparents play a pivotal role in traditional societies to impart cultural values, traditions and skills to their future generations, result in promoting a wiser society. Older generations can serve as advisors or mentors for the younger ones who comfort to seek advice in decision-making process.

Weighing up both sides of the argument, despite having challenges in governments by means of healthcare services and social welfare, the benefits of aging that it brings to the family unit and to society are far more profound. As a result, embracing and supporting an ageing population can lead to a more harmonious, prosperous and enlightened society.