In many countries, people are spending more time working and less time with their families. Is this a positive or negative development?

According to a recent AARP’s survey, the loneliness rate among adults aged 45 and older has risen to 40%, a 5 percent increase compared to 2018. This trend suggests that the family bonds are weakening, primarily because people in many countries nowadays spend more time far away from their kin. While this phenomenon has emotional downsides, I disagree that this is an entirely negative development due to the economic and educational benefits it offers

First and foremost, the decision to live far from home does not always stem from a voluntary choice. In a fast- paced era, financial stability has gradually become a serious concern for many households. For example, the breadwinner in an extended family finds it difficult to earn a decent living in their hometown or rural area. That is why many people leave their home or country to find a better-paying job that could help their family ‘s financial burden.

Besides that, pursuing higher education is another compelling reason for GEOGRAPHICAL SEPARATION. It is undeniable that the international educational environment is high-standard and opens more chances for learners. In lieu of staying near family, people tend to explore the world, experience diverse cultures and lifestyles or even innovative pedagogical methods. This journey not only contributes to open-minded thinking and bilingual abilities but also provides a deep understanding of global citizenship, which is far more valuable than remaining in a familiar but limited environment.

Admittedly, despite the aforementioned benefits, the potential drawbacks of this trend can not be overlooked. Choosing this lifestyle means becoming independent and self-responsible. In other words, INDIVIDUALS must learn how to manage time, cook for themselves and cover all living expenses independently. However,the most critical issue is the erosion of emotional bonds from family. This is the hardest challenge for all people living alone. Moreover, as parents gradually become older and older, the unpredictability of life means they cannot wait until their children come back and express gratitude.

In conclusion, I disagree with the view that spending time away from family is a purely negative trend. Despite the psychological challenges, the pursuit of financial stability and advanced education represents a justifiable trade-off for the family’s long-term prosperity.