In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a trend of people wearing western style clothes like suits and jeans in a lot of countries around the globe and there are a number of reasons responsible for this phenomenon. From my vantage point, this is mostly a negative development as I have further explained in this essay.

There are several reasons why people are following this trend. The main reason being that through the spread of globalization, western powers have been able to expose rest of the world to their fashion sense. Since in other parts of the globe, these countries are viewed as role models and everyone wants to imitate them, this development has become so widespread. In Addition, dressing according to western standards, increases an individual’s chance of getting hired in internatonal companies since these organizations always look for people who dress smart during recruitment.

By and large, replacing traditional dresses with western style ones leads to many adverse outcomes. Clothes are an important aspect of every culture and getting rid of old costumes is in a way a seen as a betrayal to one’s cultural background. Moreover, these clothing items are essentially what differentiates an ethnic group from others. To exemplify, if people who are native to Middle East give up their traditional dresses in favor of more trendy global ones, they will end up losing a part of their identity. For these reasons, I believe dressing according to your culture is more important than fitting in with the rest of the world.

To conclude, more and more people are wearing western clothing items instead of the ones specific to their countries and there are many reasons contributing to this development . As far as I’m concerned, this trend is overall negative due to the reasons discussed in this essay.