In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In numerous nations, inhabitants are prefer western clothes to traditional costumes. This essay will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon before my own perspective is drawn.

Initially, there are various reasons for this trend. The most outstanding is that the development of social network also makes the youngsters easily approach the costumes from western countries. In other words, teenagers are able to observe other nations’ clothes easily on several platforms such as Facebook and Tiktok due to the popularity of these applications. As they find they are unique and have never emerged before in their home countries, young people will attempt to mimic these styles and turn them into a new trend. Consequently, western clothes will be increasingly popular. Moreover, it is also because of the history of the some countries. In the past, they could be invaded by several powerful countries. For instance, in the previous century, French, Netherland and Spain turned Southeast Asia countries into their colonies, their influences on Vietnam, Philippines or Malaysia were significant, and they also contained their traditional clothes. Therefore, it is difficult to modify their ways of dressing these types of costumes due to their origin.

In my standpoint, wearing costumes originated from western countries is a negative trend. Firstly, it makes traditional clothes at risk of being forgotten and abandoned by the youth. It is because, the costumes designed in a conventional way regularly have basic style, which is unable to attract young people, while the garments from western countries possess outstanding and colorful design, which is appealing to certain groups of people. As a result, the culture of the countries will also be affected. In addition, the distance between people with better living conditions and the others with imporverished status will emerge. In simpler term, the western costumes are usually sold at moderately expensive prices. So, people who are not able to afford these clothes will easily be discriminated by their peers. This directly impact these people’s mentality.

In conclusion, the main reason for this phenomenon is because of the improvement of social media and also the history of several countries, and I am convinced that this trend will negatively affect the cultural values and it aslo cause mental problems in some people.