In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Concerns related to plastic bags are surging at an exponential pace as almost all supermarkets and takeaway stores are relying on them tremendously. Despite the numerous benefits they present, with cost-effectiveness being the predominant one, I firmly agree that a blanket ban should be imposed on plastic bags due to a severe impact on the environment, land and marine ecosystem, in particular, they pose.

Advocates of plastic bags contend that they are highly cost-effective for both manufacturers as well as consumers. Plastic bags are relatively cheaper to produce as opposed to alternatives such as paper or synthetic based ones, thereby making them an economical option. Regarding customers, specifically for those who are not financially privileged, such bags would serve as an ideal solution since they are affordable and convenient for carrying items. As a consequent, plastic bags are widely regarded as a more practical and economical choice.

One of the compelling reasons for banning plastic is the severe environmental harm it induces, with land pollution being the most noticeable. Plastic bags are non-degradable and on this account they stay on the land and it takes hundreds of years to decompose. This, in turn, has far-reaching consequences primarily because plastic particles accumulate on soil, releasing toxic chemicals, which can ultimately hinder the harvesting process of many crops. Once implemented, this ban could facilitate to stop plastic waste production, thus making the planet cleaner and more sustainable place to live.

In addition to land pollution, it can also have a detrimental influence on the aquatic world. Indeed, according to estimates, there are more plastic particles in the oceans rather than on lands, which in turn means that marine mammals are under a constant jeopardy. Discarded plastic wastes travel through the oceans, where marine animals may face them and consume them unknowingly along with their food. In the long run, this can damage their digestive system, causing suffering and eventual death. Some may not ingest them, but get tangled in it, limiting their movements. If they are unable to move, they are left without food, being the main cause of their death. Accordingly, it is imperative to stop using not only plastic bags but also plastic-based products, which have detrimental effects on the environment.

In conclusion, although opponents prefer plastic bags claiming that it offers a multitude of advantages such as cost-effectiveness, my firm conviction is that in light of their irrevesible harm to the environment they should no longer be used.