In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays plastic containers are commonly used by companies, which produce food or drinks. Despite the fact that their popularity keeps increasing due to some benefits, they still have a negative influence on the environment and human beings’ health. Therefore, this essay will prove that the cons outweigh the cons.

Companies use plastic containers in their production, since they are convenient for the storage of goods, including foods and drinks. Such a way of storing products is the most economical, which takes only a small part of the production expenditure. Hence, more and more companies prefer them to others in order to save money on manufacturing for a higher profit. Moreover, containers increase the chance of retaining a good appearance of products after the transportation compared to other ways of packing, like paper ones.

Anyway, in spite of the fact that plastic containers have some advantages, there is also a number of disadvantages, which are more significant compared to the first ones. First of all, the common usage of them effects negatively on the ecological situation of the world, since they decompose for a long period of time, which grow the level of pollution. Secondly, the popularity of plastic containers may lead to problems with health. Since most consumers who purchase processed meals decide to heat them in those containers, which may produce toxic chemicals during the heating and poison the meal. As a result, people eat that food, which is full of toxic substances and suffer from stomachaches.

In conclusion, although plastic containers bring benefits to manufacturers due to economical costs and helping to maintain the external appearance of the products, they have a number of drawbacks, which impact not only on the nature but also on human beings.