In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree

Smokers in the public areas is legally banned in many nations. This essay is totally agrees with that statement because it reduces the government expenses and improves the general air quality.

Tobacco ban in public venues reduces the state’s medical expenses related to cigarettes. After the new legislation, non-smokers have less exposure to the secondhand smoke in open areas. The prominent cause of lung cancer is by smoking, a smokefree environment greatly reduces the risk of these illnesses. Therefore, the costs for treating the diseases caused by tobacco is greatly trimmed. In the long term, the smokefree atmosphere can nourish a smoke-free future generation with better health condition. For example, studies by the World Health Organization (WHO) show that tobacco use is responsible for 25% of all cancer deaths globally and over 1 million people die every year from exposure to second-hand smoke.

The prohibition of smoking in public places improves the countries’ air quality. Secondhand smoke is composed of respirable suspended particles such as nicotine and dust. As people are forbidden to smoke in the public areas, the amount of secondhand smoke and respirable suspended particles decrease simultaneously. Hence, the environment of streets, public transport and parks have a significant improvement with more desirable air quality. For instance, an Australian study demonstrated significantly lower levels of RSP in smokefree venues with venues allowed smoking.

To conclude, a lot of states have introduced a new law enforcement for illegal to smoke in public areas because of saving in government expenses on healthcare and build up a cleaner environment.