In many countries, some students live with their families while studying, but other students prefer to attend universities in other cities. Do the advantages of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often believed that students who lived in another city to study has certain level of advantages that students who live at home with their family does not experience. In this essay we will discuss both sides argument and take balanced approach.

Scholars who attended tertiary education away from their home have been observed to have higher autonomy, able to take better judgment call and the ability to carve their own path due to the constraints that they had at home does not apply during their study. Unfortunately this freedom also have its own drawbacks, they often get homesick, this is especially true during stressful phase of university. moreover, the fact that living in another metropolis means that they must rent boarding house or apartements which they need to compensate by monetary assistance from family or working part time, which when coupled with university demand, can cause burnout.

On the other hand, pupils who study in the same town where they live have seen to experience easier life since the family provide home, provisions and become their safe haven during stressful times. Despite its merits, these students may have not the experience level of independency from their family, while by itself is not dangerous, if they decide to move to another city to work, they will likely struggle to adapt.

To summarize, both sides has been observed to have their own benefits and drawacks, but a student can take the balanced approach, it is by enrolling in local university but they can rent their own apartement near the college. This method will expose them to independent life but the feeling of home is easily reachable will ease the stress.