In many countries, some students live with their families while studying, but other students prefer to attend universities in other cities. Do the advantages of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Many students give preference to living with their parents during higher studies from university, whereas some think it is better to reside separately from their parents. In my opinion, both situations have their own merits and demerits. In this essay, we will discuss about both the advantages and disadvantages of the situations and also state reason behind my opinion.

To begin with, living with parents while pursuing higher education, definitely has advantages. These advantages include getting home-cooked meals each time and every day, no need to worry about dirty clothes, and it also gives a peaceful environment to focus on study. The main disadvantage of living at parents’ home during college days are, first is they cannot learn to live separately and second one is, parents tend to interfere with their personal lives. For instance, a graduating individual is living with their parents, it makes their lives easier in terms of food and laundry, but at the same time there are also interferences from parents.

On the other hand, staying away from family while studying in college, has is its own perks and problems. These perks are, first of all, they get trained to live independently. Secondly, they don’t have to worry about someone telling them, what to wear, what to eat, and when to sleep, and so on. The major demerit in this scenario is that there is no one to comfort them during their struggles. For example, living as a single person in university, it looks good as students can do whatever they want but it does not include the care provided by parents.

To conclude, both living with parents and studying away from home, has its own advantages and disadvantages. It mainly depends upon the distance from home, if it is feasible for daily commute or not and to some extent, it is also on individual’s choice.