8. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Watching television is bad for children. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, some people believe television causes negative effects in children, while some people argue that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. I mostly agree with the aforementioned viewpoint for the following reasons.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why people think that watching TV will have negative effects on children’s development. The first reason is that many TV programmes and movies contain violent contents and unsuitable content for children. It gives a more negative impact on a child’s psychological development and warps a person’s perspective. In addition, exposure to violence affects cognitive and emotional growth. The other reason is that children can easily become distracted and have less direct interaction with family and friends because of prolonged TV viewing. Experts suggest that excessive TV viewing during early childhood can hinder cognitive growth and lead to social isolation. In education, children may lose focus in their studies and have poor concentration as a result of excessive screen time.

On the other hand, television play an important role in education. Watching educational TV programmes brings various benefits such as broadening knowledge, boosting academic performance, and stimulating curiosity and imagination. For example, educational cartoons like “Inside Out” allow children easy to learn how to recognize and regulate their emotions. Documentaries are the best programs that can present to children how amazing our earth is and show them knowledge that they have never known. Moreover, there are ways to protect children from imitating bad things. When kids watch some unsuitable programmes or movies, adults should sit beside them and teach.

In conclusion, I belive that watching television not only gives negative effects but also brings various advantages that outweigh the disadvantages. It illustrates different knowledge according to their various types of programs.