In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by fast food. This has a negative impact on families, individuals, and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether the prevalence of global fast food surpassing traditional dishes is detrimental to both families and societies. Although this tendency exerts certain benefits, I believe that it creates overall negative impacts.

Admittedly, the preference for quick meals is advantageous for families with hectic schedules and modern lifestyles. Regarding the former, fast food is essential for families who juggle their primary job and a side hustle at the same time because it is super convenient and delicious. For instance, in Vietnam, the pressure of the increasing demands of modern work life leads parents to lack time spent on home-cooked meals, so they have no choice but to leave their kids to consume fast food as a result. Moreover, this trend contributes significantly to reducing the cost of every meal, which is essential for families or employees with financial constraints. This is exemplified by the fact that many popular fast food chains, such as KFC or Lotteria, usually provide cheaper dining options, like buy-one-get-one deals. Consequently, this tendency is highly attractive to families with a high-demanding workload or a tight budget.

Nevertheless, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages are far outweighed by disadvantages. First and foremost, fast food, characterized by high cholesterol and high sugar, is harmful to the health of the population, resulting in chronic diseases and obesity. As a result, such a tendency generally creates profound pressure on national medical systems, forcing the government to subsidize more funding for the treatments related to poor diet, which can be avoided by opting for salubrious food. Furthermore, the popularity of quick meals is inadvertently replacing traditional and local food culture. Specifically, when young people are interested in eating international fast food, the unique culinary heritage and time-honoured cooking traditions from previous generations are likely to be eroded over time. This is undoubtedly negative to the priceless values of culinary culture and tradition, losing the pride in their identity among the youth.

In conclusion, while the appearance of fast food offers affordable and quick meals for busy families, I believe that the overall drawbacks are more significant for families and society. Not only is this trend detrimental to the population’s health, but it also puts pressure on medical systems and leads to the erosion of the traditional culinary foundation.