In many countries television shows many foreign-made programmes. The dominance of imported entertainment is harmful to the cultures of these countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays television has a vital impact on individuals’ lives. Many point out that imported entertainment affects negatively on country’s culture. I strongly disagree with this statement and shall focus on the aspects of horizons’ expansion and language acquisition.

One of the factors that sustains the idea is that foreign-made programmes may provide the knowledge about other cultures. Numerous television shows represent diverse mentalities and atmosphere. For instance, National Geographic is multinational foreign-made educational programme that broadcasts high-quality documentaries about nature, wild animals, science, history, technology, world culture and other domains. Consequently, individuals expand their horizons and change their mindset by observing some ancient excavations and history of other cultures. If there were no international channels, people would not gain knowledge by watching television. Thus it is safe to assume that imported entertainment plays vital role.

A further point to consider is language acquisition. Watching varied and instructive cartoons, films may be seen as one of the best ways of language acquisition in childhood. For instance, children may be exhilarated in watching diverse foreign-made programmes in order to learn the language and its culture because it is easy to pick up in childhood. Therefore, the argument that imported entertainment may be preferable to watching only local programmes.

Having analysed the aspects of foreign-made programmes in peoples’ lives it is clear that it is not harmful to the cultures of different countries. There can be no doubt that some individuals prefer watching only local ones and do not have any desire to learn more about other customs. The challenge for society and cultures is to be respectful with each other.