In many countries the consumption of fast food has increased dramatically in recent years. What has caused this increase? What effect might it have on individual and society?

In recent years utilization of junk food has increased exponentially in many nations. The main cause for this problem is easy availability of food and it can have adverse effects on health as an individual and to the society.

Nowadays it has become quite common to experience variety of food items in the market. This is to say that over publicity of food through advertisement, rising growth of food industry, and easy access to junk food has made humans to explore wide variety of food almost every day. As a result, people without thinking for a second time explore variety of unhealthy food in restaurants and cafes. For example, according to the survey conducted by the Health and Education Ministry of India found that rate of consumption of junk food has raised dramatically in recent years, especially in young adults.

One of the most common ill effect it can have on individual and to the society is increased risk of lifestyle related disorders. Overeating of fast food without following adequate amount of exercise routine causes accumulation of fat in the body, majorly in vital organs, which in turn leads to chronic illnesses, such as diabetes, hypertension and obesity. For instance, prevalence of increased risk of developing diabetes and hypertension, especially in younger adults has been linked to overconsumption of junk food.

In conclusion, people have become addicted to binge eating and one of major negative effect it can have on body is increased risk of developing chronic diseases which affects individuals and society as a whole.